Organizational structure

Executive Board

Our Executive Board is composed of the Director, the Deputy Director, the Research Director and the General Manager. The Executive Board is responsible for managing and overseeing the administration and scientific activities of the institute, with the powers, duties and responsibilities conferred to it by the Board of Trustees, to which it reports.

The Director is the CEO of the Institute. He is appointed by the Board of Trustees amongst scientists with a well-established international reputation in computer networking. The Director fosters and supervises the activities of IMDEA Networks Institute, and establishes the distribution and application of the available funds in accordance with the Institute's strategic goals and within the limits established by the Board of Trustees. He is aided by the Scientific Council in determining the scientific research director and associated policies. The Director is also assisted by the Deputy Director, the Research Director Manager and the General Manager.


Doctor Albert Banchs

Dr. Albert Banchs

Deputy Director
Joerg Widmer

Dr. Joerg Widmer

Research Director

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees of IMDEA Networks Institute is its highest organ of governance, representation and administration. In accordance with the Institute’s statutes, the Board of Trustees is composed of Ex Officio Members representing the Regional Government of Madrid and Elective Members who are recognized leaders in the scientific matters of the Institute. The Director and General Manager of the Institute also participate in the Board of Trustees.

Excmo. Sr. D. Eduardo Sicilia Cavanillas


Ex Officio Trustees

Ex Officio Trustees appointed by IMDEA Networks’ founding body:

Ilma. Sra. Dña. María Luisa Castaño Marín

General Director of Research and Technology Innovation

Ilma. Sra. Dña. Bárbara Fernández-Revuelta Fernández-Durán

Deputy Director General of Research

Ilma. Sra. Dña. Irene Delgado Sotillos

General Director of Universities and Higher Arts Education

Ex Officio Trustees designated by research organizations within the Madrid public sector:

Dr. Juan Mulet Meliá

Innovation Expert
  • Innovation Expert
  • Designated by IMDEA Food
  • (Madrid, Spain)

Sra. Luisa Muñoz Rebollo

Head of Digital Services for Global Customer Unit (GCU)
  • Telefonica and Customer Unit (CU) Iberia
  • Digital Services Presales, Commercial Management & Delivery MELA
  • (Madrid, Spain)

Elective Trustees – Prestigious Scientists

Elective Trustees – Companies

Telefónica I+D

Designated representative
  • Mr. David Pablo Del Val Latorre
  • President and CEO, Telefónica I+D (R&D)
  • (Madrid, Spain)


Designated representatives
  • Mr. Luis Alberto Rodríguez-Ovejero Alonso
  • President
  • Mr. Isaac Gil Rabadán
  • Director of Human Resources and Processes
  • (Madrid, Spain)


Designated representatives
  • Mr. Antonio García Marcos
  • President
  • Mr. Ignacio Villaseca Costero
  • General Director
  • (Madrid, Spain)

Nokia Bell-Labs Spain

Designated representatives
  • Mr. Álvaro Villegas Núñez
  • Head of Bell-Labs Spain
  • (Madrid, Spain)


Designated representatives
  • Mr. Ricardo Lobo Martínez
  • R&D Department Manager
  • Mr. Diego de Lapuerta Montoya
  • Chief Operations Officer
  • (Madrid, Spain)

Elective Trustees – Institutional Trustees: Universities

Trustees designated by the Counsellor of Education and Research of the Regional Government of Madrid at the proposal of the universities:

Universidad Rey Juan Carlos

Designated representative
  • Prof. Dr. Jesús María González Barahona
  • Associate Professor of Telematics Engineering
  • Faculty of Telecommunications Engineering
  • (Madrid, Spain)

Universidad de Alcalá

Designated representative
  • Prof. Dr. Juan Ramón Velasco Pérez
  • Vice President for Strategy and Planning
  • (Madrid, Spain)

Universidad Complutense de Madrid

Designated representative
  • Prof. Dr. Ignacio Martín Llorente
  • Professor and Head of the Data-Intensive Cloud Lab
  • Faculty of Computer Science & Engineering

Scientific Council

The Scientific Council is a very important organ of IMDEA Networks, advising us on all aspects of the Institute’s scientific activities. Among many other things, the Council proposes the incorporation and renewal of Scientific Expert members of the Board of Trustees; reviews and approves scientific appointments, and generally provides support to the Director – Dr. Arturo Azcorra and the Deputy Director – Dr. Albert Banchs – in determining scientific research strategy and policies.

The Institute’s Scientific Council is composed of internationally-prestigious researchers in the field of Telematics and Internet technologies. IMDEA Networks is greatly strengthened by the participation of these eminent scientists. The current members are:

Dr. Gonzalo Camarillo

Standardization Director, Ericsson. Finland
  • PhD: Aalto University. Helsinki. Finland
  • Research: Signaling; Multimedia applications; Transport protocols; Network security; Networking architectures
  • Joining Date: July 2007
  • Contact:
  • URL: Personal site

Prof. Dr. Jon Crowcroft

Marconi Professor of Communication Systems at University of Cambridge. Cambridge. UK
  • PhD: Aalto University. Helsinki. Finland
  • Research: Computer Science, University College London (UCL) (England, UK)
  • Joining Date: July 2007
  • Contact:
  • URL: Sitio web

Prof. Dr. Gustavo de Veciana

Cullen Trust Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of Texas at Austin. USA.
  • PhD: Electrical Engineering, University of California at Berkeley. USA
  • Research: Analysis and Design of Wireless and Wireline Telecommunication Networks; Architectures and Protocols to Support Sensing and Pervasive Computing; Applied Probability, Queueing and Information Theory
  • Joining Date: November 2010
  • Contact:
  • URL: Personal site

Prof. Dr. Edward Knightly

Sheafor-Lindsay Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Rice University. Houston. Texas. USA
  • PhD: University of California at Berkeley. Berkeley. USA.
  • Research: Wireless Networks and Protocols; Wireless Access for Developing Regions; Dynamic Spectrum Access Networks
  • Joining Date: November 2010
  • Contact:
  • URL: Personal site

Prof. Dr. Jim KUROSE

Assistant Director at the Directorate for Computer & Information Science & Engineering (CISE), National Science Foundation (NSF). USA
  • PhD: Columbia University of New York City. Nueva York. USA
  • Research: Network Protocols and Architecture; Network Measurement; Sensor Networks; Multimedia Communication; Modeling and Performance Evaluation
  • Joining date: November 2007
  • URL: Personal site

Dr. Pablo Rodriguez Rodriguez

Association for Computing Machinery
  • PhD: École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL). Lausanne. Switzerland
  • Research: Networking; Distributed Systems; Information Theory; Wireless and Mobile; Network Economics; Social Networks
  • Joining Date: November 2010
  • Contact:
  • URL: Personal site

Prof. Dr. Ioannis Stavrakakis

Full Professor & Head of the Department of Informatics and Telecommunications at National and Kapodistrian University of Athens. Athens. Greece
  • PhD: University of Virginia. Charlottesville. USA
  • Reseach: Resource Allocation Protocols and Traffic Management for Communication Networks, with recent emphasis on Peer-to-Peer, Mobile, Ad hoc, Autonomic and Social Networking
  • Joining Date: July 2007
  • Contact:
  • URL: Personal site

Dr. Heinrich J. Stüttgen

Independent consultant
  • PhD: Computer Science, Associative Memory Architecture, University of Dortmund. Germany
  • Investigación: Network Architecture and Protocols; Software Defined Networking; Internet of Things (IoT)
  • Fecha de incorporación: June 2017